The Four Living Creatures and the Four Gospels

I bought some wood coasters from Hobby Lobby yesterday and decorated them with a wood burner today. Here was my inspiration:

“And around the throne, on each side of the throne, are four living creatures, full of eyes in front and behind: the first living creature like a lion, the second living creature like an ox, the third living creature with the face of a man, and the fourth living creature like an eagle in flight. And the four living creatures, each of them with six wings, are full of eyes all around and within, and day and night they never cease to say,
“Holy, holy, holy, is the Lord God Almighty,
who was and is and is to come!” (Revelation 4:6-8)

Some biblical scholars throughout history have interpreted the four creatures in Revelation to represent the four gospels: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, which incidently do also speak day and night and give glory to God as people all across the globe read from them, teach or preach from them.

Either way, it makes for some great art ideas!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s